The Categorizer

the categorizer logo

How To Delete User Profile From Windows 11 (All Ways)


Windows user profile is a user account that is created on Windows for each new user on the system. It is a separate system from the administrator account and it contains information about that specific signed-in user’s settings, data, preferences, and apps.

user profile storing user data in windows

Note: This article doesn’t explain how to delete a user account.

Deleting the user profile means that we’re erasing the custom settings, preferences, and configurations from Windows and resetting them to the default ones.

It seems that you want to remove extra user profiles to enhance your computer’s security.

By the end of this article, you’ll be able to delete user from Windows 11:


Step 1: Open the Windows settings from the Start menu or press the “Windows key + I” key combination on the keyboard.

windows setting app in windows 11
Windows Settings App

Step 2: Select the “Accounts” option from the left sidebar and click the “Family & other users” button.

click the family and other users button in the accounts section in windows settings
Family & other users

Step 3: Select the user that you want to delete and click the “Remove” button.

click the remove button to delete user profile using windows settings
Remove User Profile

Step 1: Open the Control Panel and click the “User Accounts” option.

select the user accounts option
“User Accounts” option

Step 2: Click the “Remove User Accounts” option.

Step 3: Select the user profile that you want to delete.

choose the user profile to be deleted
User Profile To Be Deleted

Step 4: Click the “Delete the Account” button.

click the delete the account option
“Delete the account” option

Step 1: In the Start menu, type “Advanced system settings” (without quotation marks) and hit the enter key.

Step 2: In the Advanced tab, click the “Settings” button In the User Profiles section.

click the settings button in the user profiles section in advanced system settings
Settings Button in User Profiles Section

Step 3: Select the user profile that you want to remove from Windows and click the “Delete” button.

select profile and click the delete button
Delete Button

Step 1: Open the “This PC” app.

Step 2: Navigate to the file path: C:\Users.

Step 3: Press the “Shift + Delete” key combination to delete the desired user profile to bypass the recycle bin after deletion.

Step 4: Run the PowerShell as an administrator from the Start menu.

Step 5: Type the command: wmic useraccount get name,sid and note the SID value for the account that you want to remove.

Step 6: Now, open the registry editor from the Start menu.

Step 7: Navigate to the following path:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList.

Step 8: From the profile lists, delete the ProfileImagePath key on the right pane based on your SID value.

Step 9: Restart your computer to make changes take effect. The next time you log in to your account, a new default user profile will be created automatically.


Step 1: Run the Command Prompt as an administrator from the Start menu.

Step 2: To list all the available users on your computer, type the command: net user and hit the enter key.

command to show all user accounts in windows
Command to Show all Users

Step 3: To delete a user account, type the command:
net user Account-User-Name /delete.

command to delete user profile from windows
Command to Delete User Profiles

Step 1: In the Start menu, type “Computer Management” and hit the enter key.

computer management app icon
Computer Management App Icon

Step 2: Expand the “Local Users and Groups” option from the left sidebar and select the “Users” folder.

expand local users and groups option and select users option
Local Users and Groups

Step 3: Right-click the desired account and click the “Delete” button.

right click and delete the user profile
Delete Button

Step 4: Restart your computer to make changes take effect and the next time you log in, the user account will be deleted.

restart device to make changes take effect in windows
Restart the Device

Why is the Delete User Profile greyed out?

The Delete User Profile button is greyed out because you’re probably trying to remove the account in which you’re already logged in.


In this article, we’ve covered how to erase user profiles in Windows 11. You can choose any method from the ones described above that you find simple to follow and implement.

Further, configure your computer’s settings for more customizations by following the related articles below.


Related Articles

how to turn off delivery optimization in windows

Disable Delivery Optimization in Windows 11

Fix increased bandwidth consumption in Windows by turning off the delivery optimization.

how to refresh environment variables in windows

Refresh Environment Variables

Refresh environment variables in Windows without restarting your computer.

how to change pc name in windows

Change PC Name in Windows 11

Set an incorrect PC name which is now showing as the default name for BlueTooth and Hotspot? Learn how to change it.

Take a Minute to Share This Article.